

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

FEDERAL TRANSIT ADMINISTRATIONFEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION819 TAYLOR STREET, ROOM 14A02300 E. 8TH STREET, ROOM 826FORT WORTH, TEXAS 76102-9003AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701

March 27, 2018

In Reply Refer to: HPP-TX

El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization Transportation Conformity Determination Amended Horizon 2040 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) Horizon FY 2017-2020 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

Mr. James M. Bass, Executive Director Texas Department of Transportation 125 E. 11th Street Austin, TX 78701-2483

Dear Mr. Bass

We have reviewed the documentation supporting the transportation conformity determination for the Amended Horizon 2040 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and Horizon FY 2017-2020 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) adopted by the El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization's Transportation Policy Board on April 28, 2017. Based upon our review and consultation with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ), and the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), we hereby find:

• that the Amended Horizon 2040 MTP and Horizon FY 2017-2020 TIP meet all the requirements for making a joint conformity determination under the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990.

Additionally, we find:

- that the Amended Horizon 2040 MTP and Horizon FY 2017-2020 TIP satisfactorily complies with the requirements of 23 CFR §450.324 regarding the review and update of metropolitan transportation plans in air quality non-attainment areas; and
- that the Horizon FY 2017-2020 TIP satisfactorily complies with the requirements of 23 CFR §450.326 regarding the update, public involvement, project inclusion, consistency with the plan, and fiscal constraint of TIPs in air quality non-attainment areas.

This conformity determination addresses project changes as adopted by the MPO's Policy Board and reflected in the corresponding Plan and Program.

The interagency consultative partners have indicated that they have no unresolved issues concerning this conformity determination in their letters dated: March 15 for TCEQ, March 15 for TxDOT and March 20 for EPA. The conformity determination and procedures used to make this determination are in accordance with the provisions of the transportation conformity rule (40 CFR Parts 51 and 93), dated August 15, 1997, as amended.

Please note that this action does not restart the four-year time clock associated with a four-year plan update.

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) acts as executive agent for the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) on metropolitan transportation plan and transportation improvement program air quality conformity determinations. Accordingly, this letter will serve as a joint FHWA/FTA conformity determination.

Should you have any questions concerning this action, please contact Jose Campos at <u>Jose.Campos@dot.gov</u> or (512) 536.5932, Barbara Maley at <u>Barbara.Maley@dot.gov</u> or (214) 224.2175 or Genevieve Bales at <u>Genevieve.Bales@dot.gov</u> or (512) 536-5941.

Sincerely yours,

Marans D. Wilnes

For Achille Alonzi Division Administrator

Electronic copies:

- Federal Transit Administration, Region 6 (FTA-6) Robert Patrick Don Koski Pearlie Tiggs
- Federal Highway Administration, Texas Division (FHWA-TX) Jose Campos Barbara Maley Genevieve Bales Clarence Rumancik TX-Finance
- Federal Highway Administration, New Mexico Division (FHWA-NM) Rodolfo Monge-Oviedo Greg Heitmann
- United States Environmental Protection Agency, Region 6 (EPA) Jeff Riley
- Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) David Brymer Jamie Zech
- New Mexico Environment Department (NMED) Michael Baca

Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT)Transportation Planning and Programming Division (TPP)Peter SmithJack FosterPeggy ThurinJanie TempleRaymond SanchezLaura NortonTim JuarezTim Juarez

Environmental Affairs Division (ENV) Carlos Swonke Jackie Ploch Tim Wood

El Paso District (ELP) Eddie Valtier Art Estrada

Marty Boyd

New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT) Jolene Herrera Trent Doolittle

El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization (EPMPO) Michael Medina Roger Williams

Sun Metro

Jay Banasiak